- What the CLMC Credential Actually Is
- Who Runs It: NALMCO and the Alliance Safety Council
- Who Qualifies to Sit for It
- How the Exam Is Built and Delivered
- The Seven Content Domains
- Fees, Registration Window, and Scheduling
- Who Hires and Rewards This Credential
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Weights
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CLMC means Certified Lighting Management Consultant, administered through NALMCO with Alliance Safety Council as the provider.
- The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions, runs 2 hours 30 minutes, is closed book, and requires 70% to pass.
- Maintenance/recycling/disposal (18%), sustainability (17%), and layout (16%) together carry more than half the exam.
- Initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers; renewal runs on a three-year cycle with 40 education clock hours.
What the CLMC Credential Actually Is
CLMC stands for Certified Lighting Management Consultant. It is a professional credential for people who manage, maintain, specify, and improve commercial and industrial lighting systems. It is not a general electrical license, not a design-school degree, and not a vendor product certificate. It sits in the practical middle ground: the person who understands lamps, ballasts, fixtures, controls, layouts, energy rules, upkeep schedules, and responsible disposal well enough to advise a building owner or run a lighting service operation.
Many acronyms in the professional world reuse the letters CLMC, so it is worth being precise. Everything on this page concerns the lighting credential only. If you want the shorter definitional pieces, our pages on what CLMC stands for and the meaning of CLMC cover the naming question directly, and the CLMC certification overview frames the credential at a high level.
Who Runs It: NALMCO and the Alliance Safety Council
The credential is associated with NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies, with Alliance Safety Council serving as the provider. NALMCO is a trade association whose membership is built around companies that service and maintain lighting, which explains the character of the exam. Questions lean toward what a working lighting management professional needs to know on the job rather than abstract theory.
The member/nonmember split in the fee structure is a direct reflection of that association model. Membership changes what you pay, a point we return to in the fees section below.
Who Qualifies to Sit for It
The CLMC is an experience-gated credential. You cannot simply buy a study guide and register. Eligibility follows one of two experience paths:
- Path one: three years of lighting-management experience combined with a bachelor degree.
- Path two: five years of lighting-management experience without the degree requirement.
Either path also requires a qualifying lighting role and an ethics agreement. The 2023 handbook additionally specifies 200 application points. Note the wording carefully: these are application points, not training hours, and mixing the two up is a common source of confusion when candidates try to figure out whether they qualify.
How the Exam Is Built and Delivered
| Feature | CLMC Detail |
|---|---|
| Question count | 125 multiple-choice questions |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not disclosed |
| Time allowed | 2 hours 30 minutes |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Reference materials | Closed book |
| Online delivery | Approved Chrome browser setup, proctored, embedded calculator |
| In-person delivery | Offered at events, with specified calculator rules |
| Published pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
What the format means for pacing
Two and a half hours for 125 questions works out to roughly 72 seconds per item. That is comfortable for recall questions and tight for calculation questions, which is why the delivery details matter. Online candidates get an embedded calculator; in-person candidates must follow the specific calculator rules for the event. Learn which applies to your sitting and practice with that kind of tool, not a favorite device you will not be allowed to use.
Closed book, practical flavor
Because the exam is closed book, you cannot look up lumen-per-watt figures, retrofit steps, or disposal categories mid-exam. The questions reward familiarity with how lighting systems behave in real facilities. For a deeper look at the passing threshold, see our breakdown of the CLMC passing score, and for difficulty perception, how hard the CLMC exam is.
One honest caveat: the scored/unscored question split is not disclosed, and no official pass rate has been published. Anyone quoting a precise pass percentage is not working from official data. Our pass rate article explains what can and cannot be said.
The Seven Content Domains
The exam is organized into seven weighted domains. These names and weights are the backbone of any sensible study plan, and they are worth memorizing before you open a single textbook.
| Domain | Name | Weight |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Characteristics and Proper Usage of Lamps | 15% |
| 2 | Characteristics and Proper Usage of Ballasts | 6% |
| 3 | Characteristics and Proper Usage of Fixtures and Controls | 14% |
| 4 | Lighting Layout Designs and Applications | 16% |
| 5 | Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls | 14% |
| 6 | Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices | 18% |
| 7 | Sustainable Lighting Practices | 17% |
Domain 6: Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices (18%)
The single heaviest domain, and fitting for an association of lighting maintenance companies. Expect questions grounded in how lighting systems are kept running and retired responsibly.
- Maintenance practices that preserve light output and equipment life
- Recycling and disposal handling for lamps and related components
- Why scheduled upkeep differs from reactive repair in a facility setting
Domain 7: Sustainable Lighting Practices (17%)
The second-heaviest domain. It rewards candidates who can connect equipment choices to environmental and lifecycle outcomes, not just recite product specs.
- Sustainability considerations in selecting and operating lighting
- How lighting decisions fit broader facility sustainability goals
Domain 4: Lighting Layout Designs and Applications (16%)
Layout is where equipment knowledge becomes a plan. Candidates need to reason about placement and application for different spaces and tasks.
- Matching layout approach to the application
- Applying fixture and lamp knowledge to real spaces
Add those three and you reach 51% of the exam. Domains 1 (lamps, 15%), 3 (fixtures and controls, 14%), and 5 (energy conservation, 14%) form the middle tier, and Domain 2 (ballasts, 6%) is the smallest slice. Do not read "smallest" as "skippable": at 125 questions, 6% is still a handful of items you can bank with modest effort. The full treatment is in our CLMC exam domains guide.
Key Takeaway
Most candidates over-study equipment specifications (lamps, ballasts, fixtures) because they are concrete. Yet maintenance, sustainability, and layout outweigh them combined. Balance your hours against the weights, not your comfort zone.
Fees, Registration Window, and Scheduling
The fee picture
| Item | Member | Nonmember |
|---|---|---|
| Initial exam fee | $500 | $1,000 |
| Retest / renewal (2023 handbook) | $300 | $600 |
| Renewal (live page) | $300, no member split shown | |
The initial fee is straightforward: $500 for NALMCO members, $1,000 for nonmembers. The retest and renewal numbers are where sources disagree. The 2023 handbook lists $300 for members and $600 for nonmembers, while the live page shows $300 for renewal without distinguishing members from nonmembers. Current nonmember renewal and retest fees therefore need confirming with the administrator before you budget. Our CLMC certification cost breakdown covers the full cost picture.
Registration window
The current registration window is 180 days. Older materials mention a one-year window, but the 180-day figure is the current one. In practice this means you should register when you are within a realistic study horizon, not months before you have begun preparing. See the CLMC exam dates guide for scheduling details, including the two delivery routes (proctored online or in-person events).
Who Hires and Rewards This Credential
Because NALMCO's membership is lighting management companies, the natural home for CLMC holders is that part of the industry: firms that maintain, retrofit, and service commercial and industrial lighting. Roles where the credential carries weight include:
- Lighting maintenance and service company staff who plan and oversee work for clients
- Project and account managers who advise facilities on upgrades and upkeep
- Consultants who evaluate existing lighting and recommend energy-conserving changes
- Facility-side professionals responsible for lighting across a building portfolio
The credential signals that you have both the experience (it is required to qualify) and a verified knowledge base across equipment, layout, energy, and end-of-life handling. For market-facing detail, our articles on CLMC jobs and the CLMC salary guide explore the career side, and the ROI analysis helps you weigh fee against benefit. We deliberately avoid quoting specific salary numbers here because none are established in the official sources for this credential.
Keeping the Credential Active
Certification is not a one-time event. Renewal runs on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours. That figure is sometimes misreported as 400; the correct requirement is 40. Combined with the renewal fee (with the member/nonmember conflict noted above), plan your continuing education across the cycle rather than cramming at the end.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Weights
Rather than a generic schedule, tie your calendar to how the domains build on each other. Equipment knowledge comes first because layout, energy, and sustainability questions all assume you understand lamps, ballasts, fixtures, and controls. Then the heavy-weight applied domains get the most sustained attention.
Equipment foundations
- Domain 1 (lamps) and Domain 2 (ballasts): learn the characteristics and proper usage
- Domain 3 (fixtures and controls): connect hardware to how it is controlled
Applied design and energy
- Domain 4 (layout, 16%): practice reasoning through space and application scenarios
- Domain 5 (energy conservation, 14%): work calculation-style problems with the calculator you will use on exam day
The two heaviest domains
- Domain 6 (maintenance, recycling, disposal, 18%): the most heavily weighted area
- Domain 7 (sustainability, 17%): tie equipment choices to lifecycle outcomes
Timed practice
- Full 125-question runs at the 2 hour 30 minute limit, closed book
- Review misses by domain and rebalance remaining hours
For a fuller plan, see our CLMC study guide, and keep the CLMC cheat sheet handy for last-mile review. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, the CLMC practice test lets you drill by domain, and you can return to the main practice site whenever you want to measure progress against the weights above.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Lighting Management Consultant, a credential associated with NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies, with Alliance Safety Council as provider.
The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, closed book, with a 70% passing score. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices is the largest at 18%, followed by Sustainable Lighting Practices at 17% and Lighting Layout Designs and Applications at 16%. Ballasts are the smallest at 6%.
Either three years of lighting-management experience plus a bachelor degree, or five years of experience, along with a qualifying lighting role and an ethics agreement. The handbook also specifies 200 application points, which are not training hours.
The initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers. Certification renews on a three-year cycle requiring 40 education clock hours; renewal and retest fees have conflicting published figures, so confirm current amounts before paying.