- Which CLMC This Cheat Sheet Covers
- The Exam at a Glance
- Eligibility and Registration Facts
- Fees, Renewal, and the Numbers You Must Verify
- The Seven Domains by Weight
- Domain-by-Domain Quick Review
- Test-Day Logistics: Online vs. In-Person
- A Weight-Driven Study Order
- Where the Credential Gets Used
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions, 2 hours 30 minutes, and a 70% passing score; it is closed book.
- Maintenance/recycling/disposal (18%), sustainability (17%), and layout (16%) together make up 51% of the exam.
- Initial fees are $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers; confirm retest and renewal fees before paying.
- Renewal runs on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours, not 400.
Which CLMC This Cheat Sheet Covers
The acronym CLMC is shared by several unrelated credentials. This page is about one thing only: the Certified Lighting Management Consultant credential, offered through NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies, with testing delivered through the Alliance Safety Council. If you landed here looking for a different certification, nothing below (fees, domains, scoring) applies to it.
If you want background on the credential itself before diving into numbers, start with What Is CLMC Certification? or What Does CLMC Stand For?. This page assumes you already know what you are signing up for and want the facts on one scannable page.
The Exam at a Glance
| Item | What the Sources Say | |
|---|---|---|
| Certifying body | NALMCO (International Association of Lighting Management Companies) | |
| Provider | Alliance Safety Council | |
| Format | 125 multiple-choice questions | |
| Time limit | 2 hours 30 minutes | |
| Passing score | 70% | |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Split not disclosed | |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed | |
| Reference materials | Closed book | |
| Delivery | Approved online (Chrome, proctored) or in-person events | |
| Calculator | Embedded calculator online; specified calculator rules in person |
Two things stand out. First, the 70% threshold applies to a test where you cannot see how many questions are scored versus unscored, so treat every item as if it counts. Second, no pass rate is published. Be skeptical of any site quoting a precise figure. For a grounded discussion of what is and is not known, see CLMC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows, and for the arithmetic of the cut score, CLMC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Pacing is straightforward math: 150 minutes across 125 questions leaves roughly 72 seconds per item. Calculation-style questions (lumens, footcandles, energy savings, payback) will consume more than their share, so you want a fast pass through knowledge-recall items to bank time.
Eligibility and Registration Facts
NALMCO's eligibility pathway has two routes:
- Route A: three years of lighting-management experience plus a bachelor's degree.
- Route B: five years of lighting-management experience.
Either route requires a qualifying lighting role and a signed ethics agreement. The handbook also specifies 200 application points. Note the wording carefully: these are application points, not training hours, so do not confuse them with the continuing-education clock hours required at renewal.
For a fuller walkthrough of who qualifies and how to document experience, read CLMC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify. For scheduling mechanics and deadlines, see CLMC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Fees, Renewal, and the Numbers You Must Verify
| Fee Type | Member | Nonmember | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial exam fee | $500 | $1,000 | Current |
| Retest (2023 handbook) | $300 | $600 | Confirm current |
| Renewal (2023 handbook) | $300 | $600 | Conflicts with live page |
| Renewal (live page) | $300, no member/nonmember split shown | Confirm current | |
The initial fee is the firm number: $500 for members, $1,000 for nonmembers. That $500 gap is worth weighing against NALMCO membership cost if you are paying out of pocket. The retest and renewal numbers are murkier. The 2023 handbook lists $300/$600, while the live page lists $300 for renewal with no split. Until you confirm directly, assume a nonmember might face the higher figure. A broader cost picture, including study materials and membership, is in CLMC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Renewal in one line
The credential renews on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours. It is easy to misremember this as 400; it is not. Forty hours over three years is a manageable load for anyone actively working in the field.
The Seven Domains by Weight
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Domain 6: Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices | 18% |
| Domain 7: Sustainable Lighting Practices | 17% |
| Domain 4: Lighting Layout Designs and Applications | 16% |
| Domain 1: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Lamps | 15% |
| Domain 3: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Fixtures and Controls | 14% |
| Domain 5: Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls | 14% |
| Domain 2: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Ballasts | 6% |
The weighting tells a clear story: this is a management credential, not a pure product-knowledge test. The three heaviest domains (maintenance/disposal, sustainability, and layout) total 51% of the exam. Ballasts, the most technical-sounding domain, is the lightest at 6%. Candidates who over-invest in ballast minutiae at the expense of maintenance and disposal practices are studying against the grain of the blueprint. The complete breakdown lives in CLMC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.
Domain-by-Domain Quick Review
The blocks below are memory prompts, not full study content. Use them to check whether a topic is familiar or whether you need to dig deeper.
Domain 6: Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices (18%)
The single heaviest domain. Expect scenario questions about how a lighting program is kept running and how end-of-life products are handled responsibly.
- Group relamping versus spot relamping and when each makes economic sense
- Lamp lumen depreciation and luminaire dirt depreciation, and how they drive maintenance intervals
- Handling, storage, and recycling of lamps containing hazardous materials such as mercury
- Ballast disposal considerations, including older units that may carry regulated components
- Documentation and recordkeeping that supports compliant disposal
Domain 7: Sustainable Lighting Practices (17%)
Sustainability is nearly as heavy as maintenance. Think life-cycle thinking rather than just wattage.
- Total cost of ownership versus first cost
- Efficacy comparisons across source types
- Environmental impact across product life, including disposal
- Daylighting integration and light-pollution awareness
- How to frame sustainability benefits for a client's decision-makers
Domain 4: Lighting Layout Designs and Applications (16%)
Layout is where calculation questions concentrate, which is why the embedded calculator matters.
- Illuminance targets by task and space type
- Basic point-by-point and lumen-method reasoning
- Spacing-to-mounting-height considerations and uniformity
- Task versus ambient lighting strategies
- Application differences among office, industrial, retail, and exterior spaces
Domain 1: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Lamps (15%)
The classic product-knowledge domain.
- Major lamp families: incandescent and halogen, fluorescent, HID, and LED
- Color temperature and color rendering, and when each matters
- Efficacy, rated life, and lumen maintenance tradeoffs
- Matching lamp type to application and operating environment
Domain 3: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Fixtures and Controls (14%)
Hardware plus the intelligence that operates it.
- Luminaire types, optics, and distribution patterns
- Occupancy and vacancy sensors, photocells, timers, and dimming
- Where each control strategy saves energy and where it causes complaints
- Retrofit versus replacement considerations
Domain 5: Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls (14%)
The economics domain, closely tied to Domains 1 and 3.
- Calculating kWh and cost savings from a retrofit
- Simple payback and basic return reasoning
- Load, demand, and the role of controls in reducing both
- Energy codes and standards as a framing for project requirements
Domain 2: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Ballasts (6%)
Smallest weight, but still worth a focused pass.
- Magnetic versus electronic ballasts and their efficiency tradeoffs
- Ballast factor and how it affects light output and power
- Compatibility between ballast and lamp type
- Basic recognition of when a ballast is the failure point
Key Takeaway
Domains 1, 3, and 5 overlap heavily in practice: a retrofit question may test the lamp, the control, and the savings math at once. Study them as a connected chain rather than three silos.
Test-Day Logistics: Online vs. In-Person
You can sit the exam through approved online delivery (Chrome-based and proctored) or at in-person events. The calculator rules differ by mode:
- Online: an embedded calculator is provided within the testing interface.
- In person: specified calculator rules apply, so check what is permitted before you travel.
Because the exam is closed book, there is no reference sheet to lean on. Formulas you need must be in your head. Practice with the same kind of basic calculator you will use on test day so the interface is not a surprise. Proctored online delivery typically brings system checks and room requirements, so run any technical readiness steps well ahead of your appointment rather than in the final hour.
A Weight-Driven Study Order
If you only have a few weeks, sequence your study by weight and by dependency. Here is one way to do it, with the reasoning attached to each block.
Lamps, Ballasts, and Fixtures/Controls (Domains 1, 2, 3)
- Build the product vocabulary first, since later domains assume it
- Spend less time on ballasts (6%) than on lamps and controls
Layout and Energy Conservation (Domains 4, 5)
- Drill calculations with a calculator under time pressure
- Connect retrofit scenarios back to Week 1 product knowledge
Maintenance/Disposal and Sustainability (Domains 6, 7)
- These two domains carry 35% of the exam together, so give them real depth
- Focus on process, compliance, and life-cycle reasoning
Timed Review
- Take full-length timed sets at roughly 72 seconds per question
- Revisit your weakest domain, weighted by its exam percentage
You can adjust the pacing to your experience. Someone who manages relamping programs daily can compress Week 3; someone who has never run a layout calculation should expand Week 2. For a more complete plan, see the CLMC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and if you are weighing whether to commit the time at all, How Hard Is the CLMC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 gives an honest read on difficulty. When you are ready to test yourself, the CLMC practice test lets you drill questions by domain.
Where the Credential Gets Used
NALMCO is the trade association for lighting management companies, which tells you where this credential carries weight: firms that install, maintain, retrofit, and manage lighting systems for commercial and industrial customers. Typical settings include lighting maintenance and service contractors, energy-service and retrofit firms, facilities teams that run large lighting portfolios, and consultants who advise building owners on upgrades and compliance.
The credential signals that you can speak to the full life of a lighting system: selection, layout, energy economics, upkeep, and responsible disposal. That breadth is what separates it from a narrow product certification. To explore the job side in more depth, see CLMC Jobs; for earnings context without invented figures, CLMC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis; and for the bigger decision, Is the CLMC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Certified Lighting Management Consultant exam has 125 multiple-choice questions with a time limit of 2 hours 30 minutes. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, so treat every question as if it counts.
The passing score is 70%. The exam is closed book, so formulas and key facts need to be memorized. Official pass-rate data is not publicly disclosed.
The initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers. The 2023 handbook lists $300 (member) and $600 (nonmember) for retests and renewal, but the live page shows a $300 renewal without a member split, so confirm current retest and nonmember renewal fees before paying.
Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices is the largest at 18%, followed by Sustainable Lighting Practices at 17% and Lighting Layout Designs and Applications at 16%. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Ballasts is the smallest at 6%.
Renewal is on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours. Be careful not to confuse this with the 200 application points specified for eligibility, which are not training hours.
Want to see how these facts show up in question form? Work through scenario-based items on the CLMC Exam Prep practice site, then revisit the domain list above to shore up whichever area costs you the most points.