- The Number You Need: 70%
- What 70% Actually Means on 125 Questions
- What the Scoring Documents Do Not Tell You
- Where Your Points Come From: The Seven Weighted Domains
- Format and Rules That Affect Your Score
- Fees, Retests, and the Cost of a Miss
- Eligibility Comes Before Scoring
- A Domain-Weighted Plan for Clearing 70%
- After You Pass: Renewal and Career Value
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Lighting Management Consultant exam requires a 70% passing score on 125 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours 30 minutes.
- Maintenance, recycling and disposal (18%), sustainability (17%) and layout (16%) are the three heaviest domains.
- NALMCO has not publicly disclosed the CLMC pass rate or the scored versus unscored question split.
- The exam is closed book, with an embedded calculator online and specified calculator rules at in-person events.
The Number You Need: 70%
The passing standard for the Certified Lighting Management Consultant (CLMC) credential, administered by NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies, is 70%. The exam contains 125 multiple-choice questions and you have 2 hours 30 minutes to complete it. That is the entire headline: no sliding scale, no separate pass mark per domain in the published materials, and no published curve.
This article digs into what that single number implies for how you prepare, how you pace the exam, and where the real risk to your score sits. If you are still confirming whether you qualify to sit for the exam at all, start with our guide to CLMC requirements, eligibility and prerequisites, then return here to plan your score strategy.
What 70% Actually Means on 125 Questions
If all 125 questions counted toward your score, 70% would translate to roughly 88 correct answers (87.5 rounded up). That arithmetic is a useful planning target, but it comes with an important caveat covered in the next section: NALMCO does not state how many of the 125 items are scored versus unscored, and does not publish whether the 70% is applied to raw correct answers or to a scaled score.
For practical purposes, plan as if you need about 88 correct answers, which leaves a buffer of roughly 37 questions you can miss. That buffer sounds comfortable until you notice how it distributes across the domains. A candidate who is strong on lamps and ballasts but weak on maintenance and sustainability can burn through that margin quickly, because the two heaviest content areas together carry 35% of the exam.
A realistic target is not "barely 70%" but a comfortable cushion above it on your practice scores. Because the real exam's scoring mechanics are not fully disclosed, consistent practice results in the high range give you protection against the unknowns.
What the Scoring Documents Do Not Tell You
Careful candidates should know what is not published, because it shapes how much safety margin you should build:
- Scored versus unscored split: The materials do not disclose how many of the 125 questions are scored. If some are unscored pilot items, you cannot tell which ones, so you must treat every question as if it counts.
- Pass rate: NALMCO does not publicly disclose a CLMC pass rate. Any figure you see quoted without a source should be treated skeptically. Our analysis of what the CLMC pass rate data does and does not show covers how to reason about this gap honestly.
- Domain-level minimums: The published materials describe an overall 70% standard and do not describe a required minimum in each domain. Do not assume you can ignore a domain, though, since weak areas still cost you points you need elsewhere.
- Raw versus scaled scoring: The 70% is described as the passing score, without a published explanation of any scaling method.
Where Your Points Come From: The Seven Weighted Domains
The exam is built from seven weighted domains. Because the passing score is a single percentage across the whole exam, the weights tell you where each additional hour of study earns the most return. Here is the full breakdown:
| Domain | Weight | Approx. questions on a 125-item form* |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Lamps | 15% | about 19 |
| 2. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Ballasts | 6% | about 8 |
| 3. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Fixtures and Controls | 14% | about 18 |
| 4. Lighting Layout Designs and Applications | 16% | about 20 |
| 5. Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls | 14% | about 18 |
| 6. Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices | 18% | about 23 |
| 7. Sustainable Lighting Practices | 17% | about 21 |
*Illustrative arithmetic only: weight multiplied by 125. Because the scored/unscored split is undisclosed, actual counts on your form may differ.
Notice that the weights are not what most newcomers expect. Candidates with a field background in lamps and fixtures often over-invest in Domains 1 through 3, yet the largest single domain is maintenance, recycling and disposal. For a full walkthrough of each content area, see our complete guide to all 7 CLMC exam domains.
The Heavy Hitters: Domains 6, 7 and 4
Together these three account for 51% of the exam, which is more than half of everything you will be scored on.
- Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal (18%): expect questions on maintenance practices, lamp and ballast handling, and responsible recycling and disposal.
- Sustainable Lighting Practices (17%): expect applied questions on sustainability as it relates to lighting programs and decisions.
- Layout Designs and Applications (16%): expect scenario questions on laying out lighting for spaces and applications, where the embedded calculator may come into play.
The Lightweight Domain: Ballasts (6%)
Ballasts carry the smallest weight at 6%, roughly one question in sixteen. You still need working knowledge, since ballast concepts bleed into lamp, energy and maintenance questions, but it is the last place to spend surplus study hours.
Format and Rules That Affect Your Score
Closed book, with a calculator
The exam is closed book. Online, an embedded calculator is provided; at in-person events, specified calculator rules apply, so read the handbook rules before test day rather than assuming your usual device is allowed. Since layout and energy conservation questions are the most likely places a calculation appears, practice working those problems quickly and cleanly without reference materials.
Delivery options
You can test through approved online delivery, which uses Chrome and proctoring, or at in-person events. The format does not change the passing score, but it does change your logistics. Online candidates should check browser and environment requirements ahead of time so a technical problem does not eat into your 2 hours 30 minutes. Timing and scheduling details are covered in our guide to CLMC exam dates, testing windows and deadlines.
Pacing against the clock
With 125 questions in 150 minutes, you have an average of about 72 seconds per question. That is generous for recall items and tight for calculation or scenario items. A sensible approach is to answer the quick recall questions immediately, flag anything that needs a calculation, and return to flagged items with the time you banked.
Key Takeaway
Do not let a single layout calculation consume five minutes. At roughly 72 seconds per question on average, one stubborn item can cost you the time needed for four easy ones. Flag it, move on, and come back.
Fees, Retests, and the Cost of a Miss
The passing score matters more once you consider what a failed attempt costs. The current initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers. The 2023 handbook lists $300 for members and $600 for nonmembers as the retest and renewal fee, while the live page lists a $300 renewal without a member split. Because of that conflict, current nonmember renewal and retest fees require confirmation with NALMCO before you budget.
Registration runs on a 180-day window, notwithstanding older handbook wording that referred to one year. That window is your deadline to complete the exam once you register, so build your study calendar backward from it. Our CLMC certification cost breakdown lays out how the membership decision affects your total spend, and the membership discount alone can be significant given the gap between the member and nonmember initial fee.
Eligibility Comes Before Scoring
You cannot reach the passing score if you are not approved to sit. The eligibility paths are three years of lighting-management experience plus a bachelor degree, or five years of experience, in each case alongside a qualifying lighting role and an ethics agreement. The handbook also specifies 200 application points, which are application points rather than training hours, so do not confuse them with a continuing-education requirement.
Sort out documentation early. A common planning error is to study for months and then discover your application needs more work. For the full eligibility picture, see CLMC requirements and how to qualify.
A Domain-Weighted Plan for Clearing 70%
This is the one section that deals with study planning, and it ties directly to the exam weights. The logic: put your hardest, heaviest domains first while your energy is highest, and keep the lightest domain for review.
Maintenance, Recycling and Disposal (18%)
- Start with the largest domain so any weaknesses surface early.
- Build summary notes you can reuse in the final review.
Sustainable Practices (17%) and Energy Conservation (14%)
- Study these together; the concepts overlap heavily with controls and lamp selection.
- Practice calculation-style questions with a basic calculator.
Layout (16%), Fixtures and Controls (14%)
- Work scenario-based layout items under time pressure.
- Connect controls to the energy and sustainability material from earlier weeks.
Lamps (15%), Ballasts (6%) and full-length practice
- Review lamps and ballasts, then take timed full-length practice sets.
- Target consistent practice scores comfortably above 70% before test day.
For a broader preparation framework, our CLMC study guide expands on resources and sequencing, and the CLMC cheat sheet is a handy final-week review. When you are ready to measure yourself against exam-style items, use the timed questions on the CLMC practice test site, and track your score by domain rather than only as a single average.
Reading your practice results
An overall practice score hides the weakness that will actually cost you. Break results out by the seven domains. If you average strongly overall but run low in maintenance or sustainability, you are exposed, because those two domains hold more than a third of the exam. If you want a realistic sense of how demanding the questions are, read how hard the CLMC exam really is.
After You Pass: Renewal and Career Value
Passing is not the end of the obligation. Renewal runs on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours. Be careful with older or inaccurate summaries that cite a much larger figure; the correct number is 40. As noted above, the renewal fee wording differs between the 2023 handbook and the live page, so confirm the current amount at renewal time.
Whether the credential pays off depends on your role and employer. Lighting management companies, energy service firms and facility operations teams are the natural audiences, and our pieces on CLMC jobs, earnings expectations and whether the certification is worth it help you weigh the investment against your own situation.
Frequently Asked Questions
The published passing score is 70% on a 125-question multiple-choice exam. You have 2 hours 30 minutes to complete it. This reflects the 2023 handbook and 2024 official review presentation; no 2026 change has been verified.
If all 125 questions were scored, 70% would equal about 88 correct answers. However, the scored versus unscored split is not publicly disclosed, so use 88 only as a planning target and aim to score comfortably above it in practice.
The published materials describe an overall 70% passing standard and do not describe a per-domain minimum. Even so, weak domains subtract points you need elsewhere, especially maintenance, recycling and disposal (18%) and sustainability (17%).
Yes, with conditions. Online delivery provides an embedded calculator, and in-person events follow specified calculator rules. The exam is closed book, so check the handbook rules before test day.
The 2023 handbook lists $300 for members and $600 for nonmembers for retests, but the live page's fee wording differs and current nonmember amounts require confirmation. Verify the exact fee with NALMCO before registering a second attempt.