- The CLMC Fee Schedule at a Glance
- NALMCO Membership Math: When Joining Pays for Itself
- What the Exam Fee Actually Buys You
- Retest and Renewal Costs: Where the Numbers Conflict
- Delivery Format and Hidden Logistics Costs
- Budgeting Prep Spend Against the Seven Domains
- The 180-Day Window and Why It Affects Your Budget
- Three Total-Cost Scenarios
- Getting Your Employer to Pay
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The initial CLMC fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers.
- Retest and renewal fees were listed at $300/$600 in the 2023 handbook; confirm current nonmember amounts before paying.
- The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions, 2 hours 30 minutes, and a 70% passing score.
- Renewal runs on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours, not 400.
The CLMC Fee Schedule at a Glance
The Certified Lighting Management Consultant credential is administered through NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies, with Alliance Safety Council serving as the provider. Unlike many certifications that publish a single flat price, the CLMC uses a two-tier structure that rewards NALMCO membership. That split is the single biggest driver of what you will pay in 2026.
| Fee Type | NALMCO Member | Nonmember | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial exam fee | $500 | $1,000 | Current published initial fee |
| Retest fee | $300 | $600 | From the 2023 handbook; confirm current amounts |
| Renewal fee | $300 | Confirm | Live page lists $300 without a member split |
Two caveats matter here. First, the primary sources are the 2023 candidate handbook and a 2024 official review presentation; no 2026 revision has been verified. Second, the handbook and the live web page disagree on how renewal is priced. Treat the initial-fee figures as firm and the retest and renewal figures as "verify before you budget." For a full look at how eligibility feeds into the process, see our guide to CLMC requirements and how to qualify.
NALMCO Membership Math: When Joining Pays for Itself
The gap between member and nonmember initial pricing is $500. That raises an obvious question: does it make sense to join NALMCO just to take the exam? The answer depends on what membership itself costs, a figure that varies by company and membership class and is set by NALMCO, so check their current dues schedule rather than assuming.
Here is the logic to apply:
- If your employer is already a NALMCO member company, you may qualify for the member rate at no extra cost to you. Ask your manager or whoever handles association memberships before you register.
- If you are an independent consultant or work for a nonmember firm, compare the current membership dues against the $500 savings on the initial fee. If dues are lower than the savings, joining first is a net gain before you even count other member benefits.
- If you anticipate a retest or renewal, the member/nonmember difference compounds. The 2023 handbook listed $300 for members and $600 for nonmembers on retests, so a second attempt widens the penalty for staying outside the association.
Because the credential is awarded through an industry trade association, membership also tends to correlate with the employers who recognize and hire for it. If you are weighing the credential's market value alongside its price, our ROI analysis of the CLMC certification and the CLMC salary guide put the fee in context.
What the Exam Fee Actually Buys You
The initial fee covers your exam attempt and the credentialing process. It does not cover study materials, and it does not cover the cost of meeting the experience prerequisites. Understanding what the exam delivers helps you judge whether $500 or $1,000 is reasonable.
The exam you are paying to sit
- 125 multiple-choice questions. The split between scored and unscored items is not disclosed.
- 2 hours 30 minutes of testing time.
- 70% passing score. See our breakdown of the CLMC passing score for how to think about that threshold.
- Closed book, with an embedded calculator in online delivery and specified calculator rules for in-person sittings.
The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, which means anyone quoting you a specific percentage is guessing. Our CLMC pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said from the available data.
The eligibility work behind the fee
Before the fee matters, you must qualify. The pathways are three years of lighting-management experience plus a bachelor's degree, or five years of experience, along with a qualifying lighting role and an ethics agreement. The handbook also specifies 200 application points, which are not training hours. The costs of qualifying, such as time spent documenting your experience, are real even if they never appear on an invoice.
Retest and Renewal Costs: Where the Numbers Conflict
A credential's true cost is rarely the first exam fee alone. The CLMC runs on a three-year renewal cycle that requires 40 education clock hours. That figure is 40, not 400, a typo that occasionally circulates and can badly distort a cost estimate.
| Item | What the sources say | Planning approach |
|---|---|---|
| Retest fee | 2023 handbook: $300 member / $600 nonmember | Budget the higher figure until confirmed |
| Renewal fee | Handbook: $300/$600; live page: $300, no member split | Budget $300 minimum, plan for possibly more as a nonmember |
| Renewal cycle | Three years | Spread cost across 36 months |
| Education requirement | 40 education clock hours | Look for low-cost or employer-provided CE |
The practical advice is to plan on the conservative number. If you are a nonmember, assume the $600 figure for a retest and treat the $300 renewal as a floor rather than a guarantee. If it turns out lower, you have a pleasant surprise rather than a budget gap.
The 40 education clock hours are where costs can quietly climb or stay near zero. Lighting professionals often accumulate education hours through manufacturer trainings, industry conferences, and association programs, many of which are free or bundled with membership. Tracking those as you go over the three years is far cheaper than scrambling in the final months. Our overview of CLMC training options covers where those hours can come from.
Delivery Format and Hidden Logistics Costs
The CLMC can be taken through approved online proctored delivery using a Chrome-based setup, or in person at events. The exam fee is the same conversation either way, but the surrounding costs are not.
Online proctored delivery
- No travel, lodging, or time off beyond the 2.5-hour sitting itself.
- You need a compliant computer, browser, webcam, and a clean testing space. If your home or office setup does not meet requirements, you may need to arrange a suitable location.
- An embedded calculator is provided, so you do not need to purchase a specific device, though you should practice with the embedded tool.
In-person events
- Travel and lodging can exceed the cost of the exam itself if the event is distant.
- Calculator rules are specified, so confirm your device is permitted before you pay for a replacement.
- Events often coincide with industry gatherings, which can offset the cost if your employer values the networking or education hours that come with attendance.
Key Takeaway
If you are cost-sensitive, online proctored delivery eliminates travel entirely. If you are already planning to attend a NALMCO event for education hours or networking, sitting the exam there turns one trip into two benefits. Check scheduling details in our CLMC exam dates and testing windows guide.
Budgeting Prep Spend Against the Seven Domains
Most candidates underspend on the domains that carry the most weight and overspend on the ones they find most interesting. Because the CLMC is a weighted exam, your prep budget should mirror the blueprint. The three heaviest domains together account for more than half the exam.
Domain 6: Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices (18%)
The single largest domain, and the one candidates from design backgrounds tend to neglect.
- Group relamping versus spot replacement economics
- Handling and disposal of lamps and ballasts containing regulated materials
- Maintenance scheduling and documentation practices
Domain 7: Sustainable Lighting Practices (17%)
Second-heaviest, and closely tied to Domain 5.
- Lifecycle thinking about lamps, fixtures, and controls
- Recycling programs and responsible end-of-life handling
- Sustainability as a client-facing value proposition
Domain 4: Lighting Layout Designs and Applications (16%)
The third-heaviest domain and the one most likely to involve calculation.
- Applying lighting to different space types and tasks
- Layout decisions and their effect on performance
- Practice with the calculator you will be allowed to use
The remaining four domains, Characteristics and Proper Usage of Lamps (15%), Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls (14%), Characteristics and Proper Usage of Fixtures and Controls (14%), and Characteristics and Proper Usage of Ballasts (6%), fill out the rest. Ballasts is the lightest at 6%, so it deserves a proportionally smaller slice of your spend. A deeper walk through every area is in our complete guide to the seven CLMC content areas.
A weighted scheduling approach
Tying your study calendar to the blueprint keeps spending efficient. A simple version:
Domains 6 and 7 (35% combined)
- Front-load the heaviest content while your energy is highest
- Build a one-page sheet of disposal and recycling rules
Domains 4 and 5 (30% combined)
- Drill layout and energy calculations with the calculator you will use on exam day
- Connect energy conservation to the controls you will study next
Domains 1, 3, and 2 (35% combined)
- Lamps and fixtures/controls first, ballasts last given the 6% weight
- Finish with full-length timed practice under the 2.5-hour limit
For a fuller method, see the CLMC study guide, and keep the CLMC cheat sheet handy for final review. Timed practice questions at our practice test site help you gauge readiness before you spend on a retest.
The 180-Day Window and Why It Affects Your Budget
The current registration window is 180 days. Older materials refer to a one-year window, so if you encounter that wording, the 180-day figure is the one to plan around. The window matters financially because it creates a deadline: once you register and pay, the clock starts, and a candidate who is not ready may be tempted to sit anyway rather than lose the fee.
That is the most expensive mistake in the process. A failed attempt triggers a retest fee, which the 2023 handbook listed at $300 for members and $600 for nonmembers. Paying that after a rushed first attempt costs far more than a few extra weeks of preparation would have.
Three Total-Cost Scenarios
Using only the published fee figures, here is how the exam-fee portion of the cost plays out for three common candidate profiles. These cover exam fees only; they exclude prep materials, travel, membership dues, and education hours, which vary too widely to state responsibly.
| Scenario | Exam Fees | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Member, passes first try | $500 | Best case under current published fees |
| Member, one retest | $500 + $300 = $800 | Retest figure from the 2023 handbook |
| Nonmember, passes first try | $1,000 | Compare against membership dues before deciding |
| Nonmember, one retest | $1,000 + $600 = $1,600 | Verify current retest fee; worst realistic case of these four |
The spread between the best and worst case here is $1,100 in exam fees alone, which is why membership status and first-attempt readiness are the two levers that matter most. For the career side of the equation, see our look at CLMC jobs and the employers who value the credential.
Getting Your Employer to Pay
The CLMC is a professional credential tied directly to lighting maintenance, energy, and sustainability work, which makes it an easier sell to an employer than a generic business certification. A few approaches tend to work:
- Frame it around the exam's content. Domains 5, 6, and 7 map to energy savings, maintenance programs, and sustainability reporting, all of which are services lighting management companies sell to clients.
- Ask about NALMCO membership first. If your company is a member, the lower $500 initial fee may already be available to you.
- Request the education hours too. Since renewal needs 40 education clock hours over three years, bundle a request for training time alongside the exam fee.
- Offer a retention commitment. Some employers will reimburse the fee in exchange for a service period; negotiate terms that do not penalize you unfairly if you need a retest.
If you are new to the credential and need to explain what it is to a manager, our primers on what CLMC certification is and what CLMC stands for offer clear language you can borrow.
Frequently Asked Questions
The current initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers. These come from the 2023 handbook and 2024 review materials; no 2026 revision has been verified, so confirm with NALMCO before paying.
The 2023 handbook lists $300 for members and $600 for nonmembers. Because the live page and the handbook differ on some fees, confirm the current nonmember retest amount before budgeting.
Renewal runs on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours. The renewal fee is listed as $300 on the live page without a member split, while the handbook shows $300/$600, so verify the current nonmember amount.
Yes. Approved online delivery uses a Chrome-based proctored setup with an embedded calculator. In-person events are also available, with specified calculator rules. The exam is closed book either way, with 125 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours 30 minutes.
The current registration window is 180 days, even though older materials mention one year. Plan around 180 days and avoid registering until your timed practice scores are consistently above the 70% passing mark.