- Who Issues the Credential and What It Certifies
- The Two Eligibility Pathways
- Application Points: What the 200-Point Requirement Means
- What Counts as a Qualifying Lighting Role
- The Ethics Agreement
- Fees, Registration Window and Delivery Mechanics
- What the Exam Asks of You Once You Qualify
- Matching Your Background to the Seven Domains
- Keeping the Credential: Renewal Requirements
- A Practical Qualification Checklist
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Qualify with three years of lighting-management experience plus a bachelor degree, or five years of experience without a degree.
- Every applicant also needs a qualifying lighting role and a signed ethics agreement.
- The handbook's 200 figure refers to application points, not training hours.
- Initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers; confirm renewal and retest fees before paying.
Who Issues the Credential and What It Certifies
The Certified Lighting Management Consultant (CLMC) credential is administered through NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies, with Alliance Safety Council serving as the exam provider. That pairing matters when you read requirements, because the credential is built around the work of lighting management companies: the firms that install, maintain, retrofit, and service lighting systems for commercial, industrial, and institutional customers.
Because several unrelated credentials share the same four-letter acronym, it is worth being precise. This article covers only the Certified Lighting Management Consultant designation. If you need a refresher on the terminology, see What Does CLMC Stand For? or What Is CLMC Certification? before continuing.
The Two Eligibility Pathways
The CLMC does not require you to hold a specific degree in lighting design or engineering. Instead, eligibility is measured by a combination of hands-on experience and, optionally, formal education. There are two routes:
| Pathway | Experience Required | Education Required | Also Required |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree pathway | Three years of lighting-management experience | Bachelor degree | Qualifying lighting role and ethics agreement |
| Experience pathway | Five years of lighting-management experience | No degree required | Qualifying lighting role and ethics agreement |
The practical effect is that a bachelor degree is worth two years of experience. A technician or account manager who has spent five years in the field can sit for the exam without ever having attended a four-year program, while a candidate with a degree in business, engineering, or another discipline can apply after three years.
Which pathway should you plan around?
If you are early in your career and hold a degree, count your months of qualifying experience carefully. A candidate at two and a half years is a few months away from the degree pathway, and there is no benefit to rushing an application that will not meet the threshold. If you lack a degree, the five-year line is firm, so start documenting your lighting-management history now rather than reconstructing it later.
Key Takeaway
Write down your start dates, job titles, and responsibilities for every lighting-related role before you begin the application. Experience that you cannot describe clearly is experience you may struggle to verify.
Application Points: What the 200-Point Requirement Means
The handbook specifies 200 application points. This is one of the most commonly misread parts of the process, so it deserves a direct statement: the 200 figure refers to application points, not training hours, and it should not be confused with the 40 education clock hours that govern renewal later on.
Think of the points system as the mechanism by which your experience, education, and professional activity are quantified on the application. Candidates who treat the number as a count of classroom hours may either over-prepare in the wrong direction or assume they are ineligible when they are not. Read the handbook's scoring table closely, because the way points are awarded determines how the application is evaluated, and confirm any ambiguity with NALMCO directly.
What Counts as a Qualifying Lighting Role
Beyond raw years, the requirements call for a qualifying lighting role. The credential is oriented toward people who manage or influence lighting work on behalf of customers, so the kinds of positions that tend to fit include:
- Lighting maintenance and service management, including scheduled group relamping and fixture servicing programs
- Lighting retrofit and energy-efficiency project work, including lamp, ballast, and control upgrades
- Account management or sales for a lighting management company, where you scope and price lighting services
- Operations roles that oversee crews, safety practices, and recycling or disposal of lighting waste
- Consulting or design roles that specify layouts and controls for existing facilities
The exam's heavy emphasis on maintenance, recycling, disposal, and sustainability tells you something about the intended audience: people who live in the operational side of lighting rather than purely in design. For more on the employer side, see CLMC jobs and the broader CLMC certification overview.
If your title does not say "lighting"
Many qualified candidates hold titles like operations manager, facilities coordinator, or project manager. What matters is the substance of the work. When you describe your role on the application, focus on the lighting-specific duties: which systems you managed, what decisions you made, and how those responsibilities connect to the exam's content areas.
The Ethics Agreement
Every applicant must accept an ethics agreement as a condition of eligibility. This is not a formality to skim past. The agreement establishes the professional conduct expected of credential holders, and it ties your certification to standards of honesty and responsible practice in how you represent lighting services to customers.
Read the agreement in full before you pay any fees. If there is a provision you are unwilling or unable to accept, it is better to find that out before the application process begins. Because the credential can be affected by conduct, treat the agreement as an ongoing commitment rather than a one-time signature.
Fees, Registration Window and Delivery Mechanics
Initial fee
The current initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers. That gap is large enough that candidates who are not yet members should price out membership alongside the exam fee, since the member rate may offset the cost of joining. For a complete breakdown, see CLMC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Retest and renewal fees: a documented conflict
The 2023 handbook lists $300 for members and $600 for nonmembers for retesting and renewal. The live NALMCO page, however, lists $300 for renewal without distinguishing members from nonmembers. Because the sources disagree, the current nonmember renewal and retest fees require confirmation. Do not budget around the higher figure or the lower figure as settled fact; contact NALMCO and get the current number in writing if the difference affects your plans.
| Fee Type | Member | Nonmember | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial exam fee | $500 | $1,000 | Current |
| Retest / renewal (2023 handbook) | $300 | $600 | Listed in handbook |
| Renewal (live page) | $300, no member split shown | Nonmember amount needs confirmation | |
Registration window
The current registration window is 180 days. Older materials mention a one-year window, but the 180-day figure is the current one. In practice, this means you should not pay and register until you have a realistic plan to be ready within roughly six months. Registering too early on an optimistic timeline can leave you either rushing or facing additional costs. See CLMC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling for scheduling details.
Delivery options
The exam is closed book and offered two ways: approved online delivery using Chrome with a proctor, or in-person at events. The calculator rules differ by format. Online candidates use an embedded calculator within the test interface, while in-person candidates must follow specified calculator rules. If you take the exam online, practice with an on-screen calculator rather than a handheld one, because the muscle memory is different.
What the Exam Asks of You Once You Qualify
Meeting the requirements gets you to the exam; passing it is a separate challenge. The exam consists of 125 multiple-choice questions administered over 2 hours 30 minutes, with a 70% passing score. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, so you should answer every item carefully rather than guess which ones count. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed either, which is why any specific percentage you see quoted elsewhere should be treated with suspicion; our CLMC pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said.
At roughly 72 seconds per question, pacing matters. For scoring specifics, see CLMC Passing Score 2026, and for a realistic read on difficulty, How Hard Is the CLMC Exam?
Matching Your Background to the Seven Domains
The requirements ask for years of experience, but the exam tests seven weighted domains. Your experience likely makes you stronger in some than others. Here is how the content areas break down and what each demands.
Domain 6: Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices (18%)
The heaviest domain rewards candidates with field and operations experience.
- Maintenance scheduling and relamping approaches
- Handling and disposal of lamps and ballasts
- Recycling practices and regulatory awareness
Domain 7: Sustainable Lighting Practices (17%)
Close behind in weight, this area connects lighting decisions to environmental and lifecycle outcomes.
- Lifecycle thinking applied to lighting choices
- Environmental considerations in specification and disposal
Domain 4: Lighting Layout Designs and Applications (16%)
Often the hardest for maintenance-focused candidates, since it involves design reasoning.
- Layout principles and application-specific lighting needs
- Reading and reasoning through lighting calculations
Domain 1: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Lamps (15%)
Core product knowledge that underpins several other domains.
- Lamp types, characteristics, and appropriate applications
Domain 3: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Fixtures and Controls (14%) and Domain 5: Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls (14%)
Two equally weighted areas that frequently overlap in retrofit and efficiency work.
- Fixture types and control strategies
- Energy-saving approaches and how controls support them
Domain 2: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Ballasts (6%)
The smallest domain, but ballast knowledge feeds into maintenance and disposal questions as well.
- Ballast characteristics and proper usage
Notice that the three largest domains (maintenance, sustainability, and layout) together account for 51% of the exam. A full walkthrough lives in CLMC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.
Key Takeaway
Use your experience as a map of gaps, not a guarantee. A five-year maintenance veteran may be comfortable with Domain 6 but underprepared for Domain 4. Identify your weakest of the three heavy domains first.
A short scheduling idea tied to the weights
Your weakest heavy domain
- Start with whichever of Domains 4, 6, or 7 you know least from daily work
Product domains
- Cover lamps, ballasts, fixtures, and controls together, since they interlock
Energy conservation and timed practice
- Pair Domain 5 review with full-length timed sets that mirror the 125-question format
For a fuller plan, the CLMC Study Guide and the one-page CLMC cheat sheet are good companions, and the CLMC practice test lets you check your readiness across all seven domains.
Keeping the Credential: Renewal Requirements
Qualifying is not a one-time event. The credential runs on a three-year renewal cycle, and renewal requires 40 education clock hours. That number is 40, not 400, a typo that occasionally circulates. The education requirement keeps credential holders current as lamp technologies, control systems, and disposal regulations evolve.
Plan renewal from the start. Because lighting technology shifts quickly, the continuing education you complete over three years is also genuinely useful for the next exam domain updates. As noted above, the renewal fee itself carries a documented conflict between the handbook and the live page, so verify the current amount before the cycle ends.
A Practical Qualification Checklist
- Count your experience. Confirm three years (with a bachelor degree) or five years (without) of lighting-management experience.
- Confirm your role qualifies. Describe your duties in lighting-specific terms.
- Review the 200 application points. Understand how points are awarded and that this is not a training-hour count.
- Read the ethics agreement. Make sure you can accept it fully.
- Decide on membership. Compare the $500 member and $1,000 nonmember initial fees.
- Verify current fees. Especially retest and renewal amounts for nonmembers.
- Plan within the 180-day window. Register only when you can realistically prepare in time.
- Pick a delivery format. Online proctored or in-person, and prepare for that calculator setup.
If you are still weighing whether the credential fits your career, our analyses of whether the CLMC is worth it and the CLMC salary guide cover the return side of the equation.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. You can qualify with five years of lighting-management experience and no degree. With a bachelor degree, the experience requirement drops to three years. Both pathways also require a qualifying lighting role and an ethics agreement.
The handbook specifies 200 application points. This is not a training-hour requirement. Do not confuse it with the 40 education clock hours required for renewal every three years.
The current initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers. Retest and renewal fees are less clear, since the 2023 handbook and the live page disagree, so confirm the current nonmember amount with NALMCO before paying.
The current registration window is 180 days. Some older materials mention one year, but 180 days is the current figure, so plan your preparation to fit within it.
Renewal occurs on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours. A renewal fee also applies, and its exact current amount for nonmembers should be confirmed directly with NALMCO.