- What the CLMC Credential Actually Is
- Who Issues It and How the Program Runs
- Eligibility: Degree Route vs. Experience Route
- Exam Format and Delivery Options
- The Seven Domains and Where the Points Are
- Fees, Registration Window, and Renewal
- Who Hires CLMC Holders
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain Weight
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CLMC means Certified Lighting Management Consultant, administered through NALMCO with Alliance Safety Council as the provider.
- The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions, a 2 hour 30 minute limit, and a 70% passing score.
- Maintenance, recycling, and disposal (18%) is the heaviest of seven domains, ahead of sustainability (17%) and layout (16%).
- Initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers; renewal runs on a three-year cycle with 40 education clock hours.
What the CLMC Credential Actually Is
CLMC stands for Certified Lighting Management Consultant. It is a professional credential aimed at people who manage, maintain, retrofit, and advise on commercial and industrial lighting systems. It is not a design-school credential, and it is not an electrician license. The certification signals that a candidate understands how lighting equipment behaves over its life, how to apply it correctly, how to control energy use, and how to handle the end-of-life realities of lamps and ballasts.
Because the acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials in other industries, it is worth being precise: everything on this page concerns the lighting management certification only. If you are still sorting out terminology, our explainers on what CLMC is and what CLMC stands for cover the basics before you commit to a study plan.
The credential matters most in the service and maintenance side of the lighting industry, where the daily work involves keeping large installed bases of lighting performing, compliant, and efficient. That focus shows up directly in the exam: the single heaviest domain is not design theory but maintenance, recycling, and disposal practices.
Who Issues It and How the Program Runs
The certification is offered through NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies, with Alliance Safety Council serving as the provider. NALMCO is a trade association of lighting management and service companies, so the exam reflects the practical concerns of firms that install, maintain, and upgrade lighting for customers rather than purely academic knowledge.
Official guidance comes from the candidate handbook (the 2023 edition) and a 2024 official review presentation. No newer revision has been verified for 2026, so treat those two documents as your source of truth and re-check them before you register, since fees, delivery rules, and policy wording can shift between editions.
Eligibility: Degree Route vs. Experience Route
Candidates qualify through one of two paths, and both require a qualifying lighting role and agreement to the program's ethics standards.
| Path | Education | Experience | Also Required |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree route | Bachelor degree | Three years of lighting-management experience | Qualifying lighting role; ethics agreement |
| Experience route | No degree requirement | Five years of lighting-management experience | Qualifying lighting role; ethics agreement |
The handbook also describes an application that is evaluated on 200 application points. Be careful with that detail: it refers to points on the application, not training hours, and it is easy to misread when skimming. Read the handbook's scoring explanation closely so you know how your experience, education, and documentation translate into points before you submit.
For a fuller walkthrough of documenting your background, see our guide to CLMC requirements and how to qualify.
Exam Format and Delivery Options
The exam is built to test applied knowledge under time pressure, and the format is straightforward:
- 125 multiple-choice questions
- 2 hours 30 minutes total, which works out to roughly 72 seconds per question if you used the full time evenly
- 70% passing score
- Closed book, so no reference materials
The official materials do not disclose how many of the 125 questions are scored versus unscored, so plan as though every question counts and avoid spending disproportionate time on any single item. The pass rate is also not publicly disclosed, which is why you should be skeptical of any site quoting a precise figure. Our pass rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said responsibly, and the passing score guide details how the 70% threshold plays out in practice.
Online proctored vs. in-person
You can test through approved online proctored delivery, which runs in Chrome, or at in-person events. The calculator situation differs by mode: online testing provides an embedded calculator, while in-person sessions follow specified calculator rules. That distinction matters because several domains involve numeric work such as energy savings, lumen and wattage relationships, and payback reasoning. Decide your delivery mode early, then practice with the kind of calculator you will actually be allowed to use.
The Seven Domains and Where the Points Are
The exam is organized into seven weighted domains. Notice that the weights are fairly evenly spread, with no single domain dominating, but three domains together account for more than half the exam.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| 1. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Lamps | 15% |
| 2. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Ballasts | 6% |
| 3. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Fixtures and Controls | 14% |
| 4. Lighting Layout Designs and Applications | 16% |
| 5. Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls | 14% |
| 6. Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices | 18% |
| 7. Sustainable Lighting Practices | 17% |
The three largest domains, maintenance/recycling/disposal (18%), sustainability (17%), and layout (16%), add up to 51% of the exam. Candidates who come from a pure sales or design background often underweight the maintenance and disposal material, which is exactly where the most points sit.
Domain 6: Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices (18%)
The heaviest domain rewards candidates who have run real service programs.
- Maintenance planning concepts such as group relamping versus spot replacement
- Handling and disposal of lamps and ballasts, including awareness of hazardous-content considerations
- Recycling practices and documentation for end-of-life equipment
- Keeping systems performing and compliant over time
Domain 7: Sustainable Lighting Practices (17%)
This domain connects equipment choices to environmental and lifecycle outcomes.
- Lifecycle thinking: how product choices affect long-term environmental impact
- Responsible practices around materials and waste
- How efficient technologies support broader sustainability goals
Domain 4: Lighting Layout Designs and Applications (16%)
Layout questions test whether you can match a lighting approach to a space and task.
- Applying lighting to different building types and tasks
- Fixture placement and the practical outcomes of layout decisions
- Reading a situation and choosing an appropriate solution
Domains 1, 2, and 3: Lamps, Ballasts, Fixtures and Controls (15%, 6%, 14%)
Together these equipment domains total 35% and form the technical backbone of the exam.
- Lamp families and their characteristics and proper applications
- Ballast behavior and compatibility with the lamps they drive; small by weight at 6%, but it connects to lamp and maintenance questions
- Fixture types and the role of controls in how a system operates
Domain 5: Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls (14%)
Expect reasoning about how equipment and control strategies reduce consumption.
- How controls contribute to energy savings
- Weighing upgrade options against energy outcomes
- Numeric reasoning where the calculator becomes relevant
For a deeper domain-by-domain breakdown, read our complete guide to all seven CLMC content areas. Note that these seven domains are the exam's actual content structure; avoid study resources that substitute broad topic groups or teaching modules for them, because the weighting will not match what you are tested on.
Fees, Registration Window, and Renewal
Initial certification
The current initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers. If your employer is a NALMCO member company, confirm whether you qualify for the member rate before paying; the gap is substantial. The full cost picture, including prep materials, is in our CLMC certification cost breakdown.
Retest and renewal
The 2023 handbook lists $300 for members and $600 for nonmembers for retests and renewal. The live page, however, lists a $300 renewal without a member/nonmember split. Current nonmember renewal and retest fees therefore require confirmation with NALMCO. Do not assume either figure is final.
Registration window
The current registration window is 180 days. Older materials refer to a one-year window, and that older wording no longer reflects current practice. Once you register, you have roughly six months to sit for the exam, so register when you are ready to commit to a study schedule, not months in advance. Scheduling details are covered in our guide to CLMC exam dates and testing windows.
Staying certified
Renewal operates on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours. Be careful here: some people misremember this as 400, which is incorrect. Plan to log continuing education steadily across the cycle rather than scrambling in the final months.
Who Hires CLMC Holders
The credential is rooted in the lighting management and service industry, so the natural employers are the kinds of companies that belong to NALMCO and operate in that space:
- Lighting maintenance and service companies that relamp, repair, and maintain installed systems for commercial and industrial customers
- Lighting retrofit and energy-service contractors that upgrade older systems and document energy outcomes
- Facility and property management organizations that need in-house expertise to oversee lighting vendors and programs
- Distributors and manufacturer representatives who advise customers on lamp, ballast, fixture, and control selection
Typical titles include lighting project manager, service manager, account manager, and consultant. Because the credential emphasizes maintenance, disposal, and sustainability, it lines up well with roles where compliance and lifecycle cost are part of the job. For market context, see our pages on CLMC jobs and the CLMC salary guide. Whether the investment pays off for your situation is analyzed in Is the CLMC certification worth it?
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain Weight
Rather than a generic schedule, sequence your study around how the domains relate to each other and how much each is worth. A reasonable order is to build equipment vocabulary first, then move into the application and policy-heavy domains where the points are concentrated.
Equipment foundations (Domains 1, 2, 3)
- Lamps first (15%), then ballasts (6%), then fixtures and controls (14%)
- Ballasts are light on weight but unlock lamp-compatibility and maintenance questions later
Application and energy (Domains 4, 5)
- Layout (16%) and energy conservation (14%) build on the equipment vocabulary
- Practice numeric items using the calculator type you will have on test day
The heavyweights (Domains 6, 7)
- Maintenance, recycling, and disposal (18%) and sustainability (17%) together are 35% of the exam
- Give these the most review time, even if they feel less technical
Timed full-length practice
- Simulate 125 questions in 2 hours 30 minutes against the 70% line
- Review misses by domain and revisit the weakest one
You can adjust the length to your experience. A candidate with years in field maintenance might compress the equipment weeks and spend longer on layout and sustainability; a design-oriented candidate should do the reverse and invest heavily in Domain 6. Our CLMC study guide expands on resource selection, and the one-page cheat sheet is useful for last-week review. To gauge your readiness against exam-style questions, take a timed set on our CLMC practice test platform, and read how hard the CLMC exam really is to calibrate expectations.
Key Takeaway
Because the exam is closed book and the weights are spread across seven domains, there is no safe domain to skip. Aim to be solid everywhere and strongest in maintenance/recycling/disposal, sustainability, and layout, which together make up 51% of the exam. Practice under timed conditions at least once at the full 125-question length.
Frequently Asked Questions
CLMC stands for Certified Lighting Management Consultant. It is a credential offered through NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies, with Alliance Safety Council as the provider.
The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions, a 2 hour 30 minute time limit, and a 70% passing score. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed in the official materials.
No. You can qualify with a bachelor degree plus three years of lighting-management experience, or with five years of experience without a degree. Either way you need a qualifying lighting role and must agree to the ethics requirements.
Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices carries the most weight at 18%, followed by Sustainable Lighting Practices at 17% and Lighting Layout Designs and Applications at 16%. Ballasts are the lightest domain at 6%.
Certification renews on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours. The 2023 handbook and the live page differ on renewal fee details, so confirm current nonmember renewal and retest pricing with NALMCO before you pay.