CLMC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLMC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt

TL;DR
  • The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions, 2 hours 30 minutes, and a 70% passing score, closed book.
  • Maintenance, recycling and disposal (18%) plus sustainability (17%) together outweigh lamps and ballasts combined.
  • Ballasts carry only 6%, so cap your study time there and spend the savings on higher-weighted domains.
  • Initial fees are $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers; verify renewal and retest fees before paying.

What You're Actually Studying For

The Certified Lighting Management Consultant credential is administered through NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies, with Alliance Safety Council as the provider. It is not a generic lighting-design exam and it is not a pure electrical exam. It tests whether you can manage lighting as an ongoing operational asset: choosing the right lamps and controls, laying out spaces sensibly, cutting energy use, keeping systems maintained, and handling disposal and sustainability responsibly.

That orientation shapes how you should study. A candidate with deep fixture-selection experience but little exposure to lamp recycling rules or sustainability practices can be caught off guard, because those two areas together make up 35% of the blueprint. If you are still getting oriented to the credential itself, the overview at What Is CLMC Certification? covers the basics, and the full domain breakdown lives in CLMC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 7 Content Areas.

One caution about sources: the details in this guide draw on the 2023 candidate handbook and a 2024 official review presentation. No 2026 revision of the handbook has been verified, so treat anything time-sensitive as something to confirm directly with NALMCO before you commit money or dates.

Exam Format and Delivery: What to Expect

The structure is straightforward, which is good news because you can plan your pacing precisely.

ElementDetail
Question count125 multiple-choice questions
Time allowed2 hours 30 minutes
Passing score70%
Reference materialsClosed book
Delivery optionsApproved online proctored delivery (Chrome) or in-person events
CalculatorEmbedded calculator online; specified calculator rules for in-person testing
Scored vs. unscored itemsSplit not disclosed
Public pass rateNot publicly disclosed

Two details deserve attention. First, the split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, so you cannot reliably tell which questions count. Treat every item as if it does. Second, a 70% threshold across 125 questions means you can miss a meaningful number of items and still pass, but you cannot afford to leave an entire domain weak. For a deeper look at the numbers, see CLMC Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass, and for an honest take on difficulty without invented statistics, read How Hard Is the CLMC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

About the missing pass rate: NALMCO does not publish a pass rate, so any specific percentage you see quoted online should be treated with suspicion. Our CLMC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows article explains what can and cannot be said responsibly. Plan around the 70% cut score, not around a rumor.

Eligibility, Fees, and the Registration Window

Who can sit for the exam

Eligibility follows one of two experience paths, plus an ethics requirement:

  • Three years of lighting-management experience combined with a bachelor's degree, or
  • Five years of lighting-management experience, and
  • A qualifying lighting role, and
  • Agreement to the ethics standard.

The handbook also describes an application-points system of 200 points. Note that these are application points, not training hours, a distinction that trips up candidates who assume the number refers to classroom time. The full breakdown of qualifying paths is in CLMC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Fees and the confusing renewal numbers

The initial exam fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers. That gap is large enough that membership may pay for itself on the exam fee alone, so run the math before registering as a nonmember.

Retest and renewal fees are murkier. The 2023 handbook lists $300 for members and $600 for nonmembers for retest and renewal, while the live page shows $300 for renewal without a member/nonmember split. Current nonmember renewal and retest pricing needs confirmation with NALMCO. Do not budget off a single source here. Our CLMC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown tracks these conflicts in detail.

The 180-day registration window

Once registered, you have a 180-day window to test. Older materials mention a one-year window, but the current window is 180 days. Treat that as a hard planning constraint: do not register until your study calendar can realistically fit inside it, and read CLMC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling before locking in a date.

Reading the Domain Weights Like a Strategist

The seven domains are not equal, and your hours should not be either. Here is the full blueprint:

DomainWeight
1. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Lamps15%
2. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Ballasts6%
3. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Fixtures and Controls14%
4. Lighting Layout Designs and Applications16%
5. Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls14%
6. Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices18%
7. Sustainable Lighting Practices17%

Notice the pattern. The equipment domains (lamps, ballasts, fixtures and controls) total 35%. The operational and stewardship domains (maintenance/disposal and sustainability) also total 35%. Layout and energy conservation split the remaining 30%. Many candidates from a technical or sales background over-invest in equipment knowledge because it feels familiar, then underinvest in the two largest single domains. The heaviest domain, maintenance, recycling and disposal at 18%, is exactly where field experience is easiest to assume and hardest to verify without studying.

Key Takeaway

Rank your own confidence in each domain, then compare it against the weights. Any domain at 14% or above where you feel shaky deserves your first study block, regardless of how interesting the lower-weighted material is.

Domains 1-3: Lamps, Ballasts, Fixtures and Controls

Domain 1: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Lamps (15%)

This domain asks you to match lamp technology to application, not just recite specs. Expect to reason about trade-offs.

  • Compare major lamp families: incandescent and halogen, fluorescent, HID, and LED, in terms of efficacy, life, color quality and suitability
  • Understand color temperature and color rendering and when each matters for a given space
  • Know how lamp choice interacts with ballasts, drivers, dimming and operating environment
  • Recognize which lamps carry disposal implications, since that bleeds into Domain 6

Domain 2: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Ballasts (6%)

The smallest domain, but not one to skip. Questions here tend to be about compatibility and proper pairing.

  • Know why a lamp needs a ballast or driver and what happens when they are mismatched
  • Understand the practical differences between magnetic and electronic ballasts
  • Connect ballast characteristics to energy use and maintenance, since the topic reappears in Domains 5 and 6

Domain 3: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Fixtures and Controls (14%)

Fixtures and controls are where equipment knowledge turns into system thinking.

  • Fixture types, distribution patterns, mounting and suitability for environment
  • Control strategies such as occupancy sensing, daylight harvesting, scheduling and dimming, and the situations each fits
  • How controls affect both energy performance and occupant experience

Because ballasts are only 6%, a sensible approach is to learn them well enough to answer pairing and compatibility questions, then fold them into your lamp and energy study rather than giving them a dedicated week. Candidates who want a compact reference for these equipment basics can use the CLMC Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts as a last-pass check.

Domains 4-5: Layout Design and Energy Conservation

Domain 4: Lighting Layout Designs and Applications (16%)

Layout is the third-heaviest domain and is where the embedded or approved calculator is most likely to come into play.

  • Illuminance targets by space type and task, and how to evaluate whether a layout meets them
  • Fixture spacing, mounting height and uniformity considerations
  • Basic lighting calculations and the reasoning behind them, not only the formulas
  • Application-specific thinking for interior, exterior and special-use spaces

Domain 5: Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls (14%)

This domain connects technology choices to measurable energy outcomes.

  • Retrofit versus replacement logic and how to compare options on energy and lifecycle grounds
  • How controls reduce consumption and what limits their effectiveness
  • Reading and reasoning about energy-related calculations and payback concepts
  • Where energy goals can conflict with light quality, and how a consultant balances them

A practical note: energy and layout questions reward working through numeric examples by hand before you trust the calculator. Since the exam is closed book, you need the underlying relationships memorized, with the calculator speeding up arithmetic rather than substituting for understanding.

Domains 6-7: Maintenance, Disposal and Sustainability

These two domains total 35% and are the part of the blueprint most likely to separate prepared candidates from experienced-but-overconfident ones.

Domain 6: Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices (18%)

The single largest domain. It covers the full back half of a lighting system's life.

  • Maintenance approaches, including group relamping versus spot replacement, cleaning schedules and their effect on light output
  • Understanding light loss and why maintenance planning affects design assumptions
  • Recycling and disposal practices for lamps and ballasts, including the handling considerations that come with certain lamp types
  • Documentation, safety and responsible handling during removal and transport

Domain 7: Sustainable Lighting Practices (17%)

The second-largest domain asks you to think beyond kilowatt-hours.

  • Lifecycle thinking: manufacturing, operating life and end-of-life considerations
  • Selecting products and strategies that reduce environmental impact over time
  • How sustainability goals shape recommendations to clients and facility managers
  • The overlap with energy conservation, and where the two concepts differ
Why this matters: Domains 6 and 7 overlap with each other and with Domain 1. A question about a lamp type may really be testing whether you know its disposal requirements. Study these topics as a connected chain from selection to operation to end of life, not as isolated lists.

A Domain-Ordered Study Calendar

Rather than a generic weekly template, here is a calendar built around the blueprint weights. It assumes an eight-week runway, which fits comfortably inside the 180-day registration window; stretch or compress it to match your own experience.

Weeks 1-2

Maintenance, Recycling and Disposal (18%)

  • Start with the heaviest domain while your energy is highest
  • Build a one-page chain: lamp type, maintenance approach, disposal route
Week 3

Sustainable Lighting Practices (17%)

  • Work the overlap with Domain 6 so the two reinforce each other
  • Practice lifecycle-versus-energy comparison questions
Week 4

Layout Designs and Applications (16%)

  • Do calculations by hand first, then check with a calculator
  • Memorize target illuminance reasoning by space type
Week 5

Lamps (15%) and Ballasts (6%) together

  • Study ballasts inside the lamp context rather than as a separate block
Week 6

Fixtures and Controls (14%) and Energy Conservation (14%)

  • Pair control strategies with the energy outcomes they produce
Weeks 7-8

Timed mixed practice

  • Take full-length sets under the 2 hour 30 minute limit
  • Return to your weakest domain by score, not by preference

Heavy domains come first because they offer the best return on early hours and because they overlap with later topics. Timed practice at the end builds the pacing you need for 125 questions. For broader preparation resources, see CLMC Training.

Exam-Day Mechanics: Calculator, Proctoring, Pacing

Pacing math

With 125 questions in 150 minutes, you have roughly 72 seconds per question on average. Straight knowledge questions should go faster, which banks time for layout and energy calculations. A reasonable approach is to answer what you know on the first pass, flag the calculation-heavy items, and return to them with the time you saved.

Online versus in-person

Online testing uses approved proctored delivery through Chrome and provides an embedded calculator. In-person events follow specified calculator rules, so confirm what is permitted before you arrive rather than assuming your usual device is allowed. Whichever format you choose, do a full-length timed practice session in similar conditions beforehand. The main practice test site is a good place to simulate that experience.

Closed-book discipline

Because no reference materials are allowed, anything you plan to rely on, such as formulas, illuminance reasoning and lamp characteristics, must be memorized. Build a short list of must-recall relationships and rehearse it until you can write it from memory.

After You Pass: Renewal and Career Context

The credential runs on a three-year renewal cycle requiring 40 education clock hours. Note that this is 40 hours, not 400, a mix-up that appears in some secondhand sources. As covered earlier, renewal fee details conflict between the handbook and the live page, so confirm the current amount at renewal time.

The credential is most relevant to people working in lighting management companies, maintenance and retrofit operations, energy services, facilities and lighting sales or consulting roles. If you are weighing the return on the investment, the Is the CLMC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 article walks through the considerations, the CLMC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis looks at earnings, and CLMC Jobs covers the kinds of roles where the credential shows up.

If you want a self-assessment before committing to a date, try the free questions on the CLMC practice test and see which domains come back weakest.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the CLMC exam and how long do I have?

The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions with a 2 hour 30 minute time limit. It is closed book, and the passing score is 70%. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.

Which domain should I study first?

Start with Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices, which is the largest at 18%. Follow it with Sustainable Lighting Practices at 17%, since the two overlap heavily and together make up 35% of the exam.

How much does the CLMC exam cost?

The initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers. Retest and renewal fees are listed differently in the 2023 handbook and on the live page, so confirm current nonmember retest and renewal pricing with NALMCO before paying.

How long do I have to take the exam after registering?

The current registration window is 180 days. Some older materials mention one year, but the 180-day figure is the current one, so plan your study timeline to fit inside it.

What does renewal require?

Renewal follows a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours. The fee for renewal is listed inconsistently between sources, so verify the current amount directly when your cycle comes up.

Ready to pass your CLMC exam?

Put this into practice with free CLMC questions across every exam domain.