- The Plain Answer: What a CLMC Actually Is
- Who Runs the Credential
- What a CLMC Is Expected to Know and Do
- The Seven Knowledge Domains
- How the Exam Works
- Who Qualifies to Sit for It
- Fees, Registration Window, and Renewal
- Where CLMCs Work
- A Domain-Weighted Preparation Sequence
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CLMC stands for Certified Lighting Management Consultant, a credential offered through NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies.
- The exam is 125 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, closed book, with a 70% passing score.
- Maintenance, recycling and disposal (18%), sustainability (17%) and layout (16%) carry the most weight.
- Eligibility pairs three years of lighting-management experience with a bachelor degree, or five years of experience alone.
The Plain Answer: What a CLMC Actually Is
A CLMC is a Certified Lighting Management Consultant: a professional who has met an experience requirement, agreed to an ethics standard, and passed a standardized exam covering the practical side of lighting. That means lamps, ballasts, fixtures, controls, layout, energy conservation, maintenance, recycling and disposal, and sustainable practice.
The word that matters in the title is management. This is not a design-school credential about artistic composition, and it is not a purely electrical credential. It is built around the people and companies who keep lighting systems running, efficient and compliant across a building or a portfolio of buildings, and who advise owners on what to do with them.
Because several other credentials share the same four letters, it is worth being precise. This article is only about the lighting credential. If you want other phrasings of the same question answered, the site also covers what CLMC stands for and the meaning of CLMC in separate pieces.
Who Runs the Credential
The CLMC is associated with NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies. NALMCO is a trade association for the firms that install, maintain, retrofit and manage lighting for commercial and institutional customers. Exam administration involves the Alliance Safety Council as the provider.
That origin explains the shape of the content. A credential from a lighting-management trade body tends to emphasize operational reality: what lamp or ballast fits a given application, how a maintenance program should be structured, what happens to a lamp at end of life, and how to defend an energy-saving recommendation to a customer. If you are curious how this fits into the broader certification picture, see the overview at CLMC certification.
What a CLMC Is Expected to Know and Do
Think of the credential as validating a consultant's working literacy across the full life of a lighting system, from selecting the source to disposing of it responsibly. A CLMC should be able to:
- Match lamp technologies to applications and explain the tradeoffs.
- Understand how ballasts interact with lamps and why compatibility matters.
- Evaluate fixtures and controls for a space and its use pattern.
- Read and reason about a lighting layout.
- Quantify and explain energy conservation opportunities.
- Run or advise on maintenance programs, including recycling and disposal.
- Apply sustainable lighting practices in recommendations.
Notice that the three heaviest exam areas are about operating and sustaining a lighting installation, not just specifying one. That is the clearest signal of what the credential values.
The Seven Knowledge Domains
The exam is organized into seven weighted domains. The weights below come from the official domain list, and they should drive how you allocate attention. A longer treatment lives in the complete guide to all 7 CLMC content areas.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| 1. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Lamps | 15% |
| 2. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Ballasts | 6% |
| 3. Characteristics and Proper Usage of Fixtures and Controls | 14% |
| 4. Lighting Layout Designs and Applications | 16% |
| 5. Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls | 14% |
| 6. Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices | 18% |
| 7. Sustainable Lighting Practices | 17% |
Domain 6: Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices (18%)
The single largest domain. Candidates should be comfortable with the practical lifecycle of lighting equipment.
- How maintenance programs are structured and why they matter to light levels and cost.
- Responsible handling of lamps and components at end of life.
- Recycling and disposal practices and the reasons behind them.
Domain 7: Sustainable Lighting Practices (17%)
The second-heaviest area, and a close cousin of Domain 5 and Domain 6 in how questions are framed.
- Choosing and recommending options that reduce environmental impact over the life of a system.
- Connecting sustainability to maintenance and disposal decisions rather than treating it as a separate topic.
Domain 4: Lighting Layout Designs and Applications (16%)
Layout questions test applied judgment about how light is distributed in real spaces.
- Reasoning about fixture placement and how it serves the task in a space.
- Understanding how application type shapes layout choices.
Domains 1, 2, 3 and 5: The Technical Core
Lamps (15%), fixtures and controls (14%) and energy conservation (14%) each carry substantial weight, while ballasts (6%) are the smallest slice. Do not skip ballasts, but do not let them eat a disproportionate share of your time either.
How the Exam Works
Format and scoring
The exam contains 125 multiple-choice questions delivered in 2 hours 30 minutes. The passing score is 70%. The source materials do not disclose how many items are scored versus unscored, so do not assume every question counts and do not try to guess which ones do not. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed either; for how to think about that gap, read what the available data shows and the breakdown of the CLMC passing score.
A little arithmetic helps pacing. Two and a half hours across 125 questions leaves roughly a minute and a bit per question on average, which is enough to read carefully but not enough to agonize. Calculation-style items deserve a quick triage: answer what you can, mark what you cannot, and return.
Closed book, with calculator rules
The exam is closed book. Delivery options include approved online proctored testing using Chrome, or in-person events. For online delivery, an embedded calculator is provided. For in-person delivery, specific calculator rules apply, so read the handbook's calculator policy before test day rather than assuming your usual device is allowed.
How hard is it?
Difficulty depends heavily on your background. Someone who manages lighting maintenance daily may find Domain 6 easy and layout unfamiliar; a designer may have the reverse experience. For a fuller discussion, see how hard the CLMC exam is.
Who Qualifies to Sit for It
Eligibility is built on lighting-management experience, not just coursework. There are two routes:
- Three years of lighting-management experience plus a bachelor degree, or
- Five years of lighting-management experience.
In addition, the candidate must hold a qualifying lighting role and agree to an ethics agreement. The handbook also specifies 200 application points. Read that carefully: these are application points, not training hours, and conflating the two is an easy mistake. The full prerequisite list is covered in CLMC requirements and how to qualify.
Fees, Registration Window, and Renewal
Initial fee
The current initial exam fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers. That gap is significant enough that anyone at a member company should check whether their employer's membership applies before registering. A complete pricing discussion is in the CLMC certification cost breakdown.
Retest and renewal fees: a known inconsistency
The sources conflict here, and you should treat the figures as provisional.
| Item | 2023 handbook | Live page |
|---|---|---|
| Retest | $300 member / $600 nonmember | Confirm directly with NALMCO |
| Renewal | $300 member / $600 nonmember | $300, no member split shown |
Current nonmember renewal and retest fees need confirmation before you budget around them.
Registration window
The current registration window is 180 days. Older documents mention one year, so if you see that wording, the 180-day figure is the more current one. Timing and scheduling specifics are discussed in CLMC exam dates and deadlines.
Keeping the credential
Renewal runs on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours. Be careful not to misremember this as 400; the figure is 40.
Where CLMCs Work
Because the credential comes from a trade association of lighting-management companies, the natural home for CLMC holders is firms that service, retrofit and manage lighting for others. Typical settings include:
- Lighting maintenance and service companies.
- Lighting retrofit and energy-efficiency contractors.
- Consulting and advisory practices serving building owners and facility managers.
- In-house facilities and energy teams at larger organizations.
I am deliberately not quoting salary numbers, because the source materials give none and inventing them would mislead you. For a discussion of how to think about earnings and role types, see the CLMC salary guide, the overview of CLMC jobs, and the analysis of whether the certification is worth it.
A Domain-Weighted Preparation Sequence
Rather than generic advice, here is a sequence that follows the exam's own weighting. Adjust it to your strengths; the point is to schedule the heavy domains early and the light one late.
Maintenance, Recycling, Disposal (18%)
- Start with the heaviest domain while your energy is highest.
- Build a clear picture of the lifecycle of lamps and components.
Sustainability (17%) and Energy Conservation (14%)
- Study these together; the reasoning overlaps heavily.
- Practice explaining a savings recommendation in plain terms.
Layout (16%) and Lamps (15%)
- Pair applications with the lamp characteristics that suit them.
Fixtures and Controls (14%), then Ballasts (6%)
- Finish with the smallest domain and a timed full-length run-through.
For a fuller plan, the CLMC study guide expands on this, and the CLMC training page covers preparation resources. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, use the CLMC practice test and review every miss by domain.
Key Takeaway
Track your practice results by domain, not just by overall score. A 70% overall can hide a weak area that is also one of the three heaviest domains, which is exactly where a retest becomes expensive.
Frequently Asked Questions
Certified Lighting Management Consultant. It is a lighting-management credential associated with NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies. For more on the name, see what CLMC is.
There are 125 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, and the passing score is 70%. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.
Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices is largest at 18%, followed by Sustainable Lighting Practices at 17% and Lighting Layout Designs and Applications at 16%. Ballasts are the smallest at 6%.
Not necessarily. You can qualify with three years of lighting-management experience plus a bachelor degree, or with five years of experience alone. A qualifying lighting role and an ethics agreement are also required.
Renewal is on a three-year cycle and requires 40 education clock hours. Renewal fee details are inconsistent across sources, so confirm the current amount with NALMCO.