CLMC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CLMC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • NALMCO does not publicly disclose a Certified Lighting Management Consultant pass rate, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
  • The exam is 125 multiple-choice questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, with a 70% passing score.
  • Maintenance/recycling/disposal (18%), sustainability (17%), and layout (16%) together make up 51% of the exam.
  • Candidates need three years of experience plus a bachelor degree, or five years of experience, so the pool is already experienced.

The Honest Answer: No Published Pass Rate

If you searched for the Certified Lighting Management Consultant (CLMC) pass rate hoping to find a clean percentage, here is the direct answer: NALMCO, the International Association of Lighting Management Companies, does not publicly disclose one. Neither the 2023 candidate handbook nor the 2024 official review presentation states how many candidates pass, how many sit each year, or how first-time and repeat takers compare.

That matters because pass-rate pages are some of the most heavily recycled content on certification sites. Numbers get copied from one credential to another, and several unrelated certifications share the "CLMC" acronym. A figure attached to a different CLMC has no bearing on this exam. This article takes the more useful route: it explains what the published data does support, how to estimate difficulty from the exam's structure, and how to prepare for the Certified Lighting Management Consultant credential specifically.

A caution about numbers you find elsewhere: Any specific pass percentage you see quoted for this credential is not traceable to NALMCO or the Alliance Safety Council, the provider for the exam. Treat it as unverified, and do not let it set your expectations, whether it looks comforting or frightening.

Why NALMCO Doesn't Publish One

Professional-association credentials often keep outcome statistics private, and the reasons are usually practical rather than secretive. NALMCO's program serves a relatively specialized niche: lighting maintenance, retrofit, and management professionals. Annual candidate volume for a niche credential tends to be modest, and small cohorts make a published percentage swing wildly from year to year, so it would say little about your odds.

The delivery model also muddies any single figure. The exam is offered through approved online proctored delivery (Chrome-based) and at in-person events, and the registration window is currently 180 days. Candidates test at different times, under different conditions, with different levels of preparation. A blended rate would hide all of that.

For a broader look at how the exam is structured and what makes it demanding, see our guide on how hard the CLMC exam is. For the full public picture of the scoring rule, our CLMC passing score breakdown goes deeper.

What the Published Data Does Tell You

Even without a pass rate, the official materials give you a clear structural profile of the exam. These are the facts that actually drive your outcome:

Exam ElementWhat the Official Sources Support
Certifying bodyNALMCO; provider Alliance Safety Council
Format125 multiple-choice questions
Time allowed2 hours 30 minutes
Passing score70%
Scored vs. unscored itemsSplit not disclosed
Book policyClosed book
DeliveryApproved online Chrome/proctored, or in-person events
CalculatorEmbedded calculator online; specified calculator rules in person
Initial fee$500 member / $1,000 nonmember
Registration window180 days currently
Published pass rateNot publicly disclosed

Two details stand out. First, the scored/unscored split is undisclosed, which is common on professional exams that pretest new questions. You will not know which of your 125 items count, so every question deserves full effort. Second, the exam allows roughly 72 seconds per question on average, which is comfortable for recall questions but tighter for calculation-based layout and energy items.

Note also that the source documents are the 2023 handbook and a 2024 official review presentation. No 2026 revision has been verified, so confirm current details with NALMCO before you register. Our CLMC exam dates and scheduling guide covers the registration mechanics.

Judging Difficulty Without a Pass Rate

With no outcome statistic, the most honest way to gauge difficulty is to look at three things: breadth, cut score, and the kind of knowledge being tested.

Breadth across seven weighted domains

The exam spans seven domains, from lamp and ballast characteristics to sustainability practices. That is a wide technical range. A candidate who spent a career in retrofit sales may be strong on lamps and controls but thin on disposal regulations, while a facilities-maintenance specialist may know recycling practice well but rarely touch layout calculations. The credential rewards well-roundedness, which is exactly why it is called a management consultant certification rather than a single-trade test.

A 70% cut score

A 70% threshold is moderate by professional-exam standards. You can miss roughly three in ten questions and still pass. That leaves room to be weak in one area, provided you are strong elsewhere. It also means a small, concentrated weakness in a heavily weighted domain can sink an otherwise solid candidate.

Applied, practitioner-level content

The content is practitioner knowledge rather than pure theory: choosing the right lamp for an application, understanding how ballasts and controls interact, planning maintenance cycles, handling lamp recycling and disposal responsibly, and applying sustainability principles. Candidates who work in the field have an advantage on recognition, but the exam still demands precise terminology and standards-aware answers.

Key Takeaway

Because no pass rate exists, stop searching for one and start measuring yourself. Take timed practice sets, score them by domain, and treat anything below 70% in a heavily weighted domain as a priority gap.

The 70% Threshold in Practical Terms

On a 125-question exam, 70% works out to 87.5 correct answers, so you should plan for at least 88 correct if all questions count. Because the scored/unscored split is undisclosed, you cannot know the exact count that applies to you, and that is the main reason to aim well above the line rather than at it.

A sensible target for your practice scores is a consistent 80% or better before you sit the real exam. That cushion absorbs the unfamiliar wording, nerves, and the occasional question on a topic you never encountered. For a deeper explanation of how the cut score works, read our complete passing score guide.

Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points

Domain weights tell you where the points are. Three domains carry the most weight, and together they account for 51% of the exam:

Domain 6: Lighting Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal Practices (18%)

The single heaviest domain. Candidates who come from design or sales backgrounds often underestimate it.

  • Maintenance planning concepts, including how and why service intervals are set
  • Lamp and ballast recycling and disposal practices, and the responsibilities that come with them
  • Safe handling and documentation practices relevant to a lighting management company

Domain 7: Sustainable Lighting Practices (17%)

Nearly as heavy, and conceptually broad. Expect questions that connect product choices to environmental and lifecycle outcomes.

  • How sustainability considerations influence lighting decisions
  • Responsible end-of-life thinking that overlaps with Domain 6
  • Reading a scenario and choosing the most sustainable practical option

Domain 4: Lighting Layout Designs and Applications (16%)

The most calculation-prone domain, and the one where the embedded or approved calculator matters.

  • Layout principles and matching lighting solutions to applications
  • Working through quantitative problems under time pressure
  • Understanding how layout choices affect performance and energy use

The remaining four domains still add up to 49%: Characteristics and Proper Usage of Lamps (15%), Fixtures and Controls (14%), Energy Conservation Issues as related to Lighting and Controls (14%), and Ballasts (6%). Ballasts is the lightest, but a 6% domain is still roughly seven or eight questions, and a candidate focused only on the big three can lose easy points there. Our complete guide to all seven CLMC domains breaks down each area in more detail.

Overlap works in your favor: Domains 5, 6, and 7 share conceptual ground: energy conservation, responsible maintenance and disposal, and sustainable practice. Studying them together lets one body of knowledge earn points across roughly 49% of the exam.

The Eligibility Filter Shapes the Candidate Pool

One reason a raw pass rate would be hard to interpret is that CLMC candidates are not a random sample of the public. To sit for the exam, you must meet one of two experience paths: three years of lighting-management experience plus a bachelor degree, or five years of experience. You also need a qualifying lighting role and must agree to an ethics agreement. The handbook additionally specifies 200 application points, which are experience-based points, not training hours.

That screening means everyone in the room already works in lighting. A high pass rate, if one were published, would partly reflect that selection effect rather than the exam being easy. Conversely, experienced people can still fail when their day-to-day work is narrow and the exam is broad. If you are still sorting out whether you qualify, see our guide to CLMC requirements and eligibility.

Delivery Format, Calculators, and Closed-Book Pressure

Outcomes on any exam are influenced by logistics, and the CLMC has a few worth planning around.

  • Closed book. No reference materials, so formulas, definitions, and standards-related facts must live in your memory. A one-page review such as our CLMC cheat sheet is useful for the final days, though you cannot bring it into the exam.
  • Online proctored delivery. Approved online testing runs through Chrome with proctoring. Technical readiness (browser, webcam, quiet space) is part of passing; a disrupted session is a preventable risk.
  • Calculator rules differ. Online, an embedded calculator is provided. In person, specified calculator rules apply. Practice with whichever tool you will actually have, and check the rules in advance.
  • The 180-day registration window. The current window is 180 days, even though older materials mention one year. Build your study plan to finish well inside it rather than assuming extra time.

Retests, Fees, and Planning Around the Possibility of Failing

Since no pass rate exists to tell you how common a retake is, plan financially as though one is possible. The initial fee is $500 for NALMCO members and $1,000 for nonmembers, which makes membership status a significant cost factor. For retests and renewals, the 2023 handbook lists $300 for members and $600 for nonmembers, while the live page lists $300 for renewal without a member split. Because of that conflict, current nonmember renewal and retest fees require confirmation with NALMCO before you rely on any figure.

After you pass, the credential runs on a three-year cycle with 40 education clock hours required for renewal (not 400, a typo that circulates in some places). For the full cost picture, including membership and renewal, see our CLMC certification cost breakdown, and to weigh the investment against career benefits, read whether the CLMC is worth it.

A Domain-Weighted Prep Sequence

Rather than a generic schedule, here is a sequence that follows the exam's own weighting. Adjust the pacing to your experience; the logic is what matters: front-load the heavy, overlapping domains, and use your final week for timed full-length practice.

Week 1

Maintenance, Recycling, and Disposal (18%)

  • Start with the heaviest domain while you are fresh
  • Cover maintenance planning and lamp/ballast disposal responsibilities
Week 2

Sustainable Practices and Energy Conservation (17% + 14%)

  • Study these together; the concepts overlap with Week 1 material
  • Practice scenario questions that ask for the best practical option
Week 3

Layout Designs and Applications (16%)

  • Drill calculation problems with the calculator you will use on exam day
  • Time yourself; calculation items cost the most minutes
Week 4

Lamps, Fixtures and Controls, Ballasts (15% + 14% + 6%)

  • Cover the equipment domains, including the lighter ballast material
  • Link controls knowledge back to energy conservation
Week 5

Timed Full-Length Practice

  • Simulate 125 questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, closed book
  • Re-study any domain scoring below 70%

For a fuller plan, our CLMC study guide expands on resources and pacing, and you can test yourself with realistic questions on our CLMC practice test site.

Key Takeaway

Your best substitute for a published pass rate is your own data. Track practice scores by domain, weight them by the exam percentages, and sit the real exam only when your weighted average is consistently above the 70% line with room to spare.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the CLMC pass rate?

NALMCO does not publicly disclose a pass rate for the Certified Lighting Management Consultant exam. Neither the 2023 handbook nor the 2024 official review presentation provides one, so any specific percentage you see elsewhere is unverified.

What score do I need to pass the CLMC exam?

The passing score is 70%. The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions, and because the scored and unscored split is undisclosed, aim for a consistent 80% or higher on practice exams to build a safety margin.

Is the CLMC exam hard if I already work in lighting?

Experience helps, but breadth is the challenge. The seven domains range from lamps and ballasts to disposal practices and sustainability, so specialists often have gaps outside their daily work. Heavily weighted areas like maintenance/recycling/disposal (18%) deserve early attention.

How much does it cost if I need to retake the exam?

The 2023 handbook lists $300 for members and $600 for nonmembers for retests and renewal, but the live page lists $300 for renewal without a member split. Confirm the current retest fee with NALMCO before budgeting.

Can I bring notes or a calculator?

The exam is closed book. Online delivery provides an embedded calculator, while in-person events follow specified calculator rules. Verify the current rules with NALMCO before test day and practice with the tool you will be allowed to use.

Ready to pass your CLMC exam?

Put this into practice with free CLMC questions across every exam domain.